21 May 2014 Current Affairs

Naveen Patnaik Sworn In As Odisha CM for Fourth Time

Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president Naveen Patnaik was sworn-in as Chief Minister of Odisha for the fourth consecutive term in Bhubaneswar on 21 May. Naveen Patnaik won a huge victory in both the 2014 Indian General Elections and the Legislative Assembly of Odisha elections in 2014.  Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal secured 20 out of the 21 Lok Sabha Seats of Odisha and 117 of the 147 Odisha Vidhan Sabha Seats. Patnaik had become the Chief Minister for the first time on 5 March 2000 when the BJD-BJP alliance came to power when the people ousted the Congress.

Pawan Chamling Sworn In As Sikkim CM for Record Fifth Time

Pawan Chamling was on 21 May sworn in as Sikkim Chief Minister for the record fifth consecutive time.  Governor Shriniwas Patil administered the oath of office to Chamling and 11 ministers at a function in Raj Bhawan. The Chamling-led Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) had secured a two-thirds majority in the Assembly elections winning 22 seats out of 32.  In power since December 12, 1994, the 63-year-old Chamling has already completed two uninterrupted decades as the CM of the erstwhile Himalayan kingdom which had merged with India in 1975.  After being sworn in for the fifth consecutive time, he was on his way to break the late Communist patriarch Jyoti Basu’s record of being India’s longest serving Chief Minister. Basu had ruled West Bengal for 23 years from 1977 till 2000.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email