Awards and Honours

Dr. M.V. Reddy get the Bharat Jyoti Award

The Director, Department of Animal Husbandry,Dr. M.V.Reddy  got the Bharat Jyoti Award .This award was presented by the India International Friendship Society.

Three National awards for State Literacy Mission

the Andhra Pradesh State Literacy Mission Authority (SLMA)  has received awards for its work in Vizianagaram district and one gram panchayat P Yeleru of Anantapur district. Andhra Pradesh is the only State which received the Saakshar Bharat Award in the entire Country. The Awards comprising a trophy and a certificate which will be given by the Vice-President of India Hamid Ansari on the occasion of International Literacy Day to be celebrated on September 8 at Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh.

Apollo Hospitals bags 4 awards

The Apollo Hospitals Group has bagged the Asian Hospital Management Awards ( AHMA) 2012 in four categories.It received awards for customer service, corporate social responsibility, cost reduction and patient safety. AHMA 2012 garnered 363 entries representing 89 hospitals from 12 countries.

Aung San Suu Kyi Receives US Congressional Gold Medal

Burmese democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi has received the Congressional Gold Medal – the highest honor Congress can bestow, at a ceremony  in the U.S. Capitol Rotunda on 19th September 2012. Members of the U.S. Congress from both chambers and both major political parties gathered to pay tribute to Burmese opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi, who was first awarded the Congressional Gold Medal in 2008, while she was under 15 years of house arrest in Burma.

Barfi! makes it to the Oscars

Ranbir Kapoor starrer Barfi! has been nominated as India’s entry to the Oscars next year in the foreign film category.

Iran to boycott 2013 Oscars in wake of anti-Islam film

The Iran government will boycott the 2013 Oscars in the wake of the anti-Islam video made in the United States that denigrates the Prophet Muhammad.

T.S. Subramanian among winners of nuclear society’s awards

T.S. Subramanian, Associate Editor, Frontline, Chennai, and R.K. Singh, Head, Media Relations and Public Awareness Section, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Trombay, have been selected for the Indian Nuclear Society’s “INS Outstanding Service Award” for 2011 for Science Communication.The awards will be presented on November 7 during the inaugural function of the 23 annual conference of the INS to be held in Mumbai.

Waheeda Rehman to get lifetime achievement award

Veteran actress Waheeda Rehman will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the forthcoming 14th Mumbai Film Festival, which starts on October 18. Mumbai Academy of Moving Image(MAMI) is organising the film festival.

Ebrahim Alkazi awarded top French honour

Ebrahim Alkazi, the grand old man of Indian theatre has been conferred France’s highest cultural award for his contribution in nurturing and presenting modern theatre in India and preserving the treasures of photography and other art forms for posterity.Alkazi, was awarded Knight of the Order of Arts and Letters (Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres) on 29th September 2012.

DRDO scientist G. Satheesh Reddy received IETE Award

G. Satheesh Reddy, outstanding scientist and associate director, Research Centre Imarat, a premier laboratory of the Defence Research and Development Organisation’s (DRDO) Missile complex, was given IETE B.V. Baliga Memorial Award on 30th September 2012 at Bangalore.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email