Awards and Honours

Flair play Award For Dhoni

Indian Cricket Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was awarded with International Sports Press Association’s ‘ Fair Play Award ‘ on 30 December 2011 for showing sport-spirit by calling back Ian Bell even after the umpire declares him out during the Team’s visit to England.  This is the first time that this award is given to a cricketer.

Gates Vaccine Innovation Award for Nitish Kumar

The Bill Gates and Melinda Foundation has accepted the proposal for conferring the Gates Innovation Award to Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for the first Gates Vaccine Innovation Award for  effectively strengthening the immunization programme. The Bihar Chief Minister will thus be the first recipient of the Vaccine Innovation Award, introduced globally by the Foundation having carried a cash of U.S. $ 250,000.

Grand Master Honour

International Chess Player Musunuri Lalith Babu received the honour of  ‘ Grand Master ‘ on 2 January 2012.  He is the 26th Chess Player from India to receive the Honour.

S.K.Singh award for nuclear trouble – shooter Venkatesh Varma

Senior Indian diplomat D. Bala Venkatesh Varma — a key member of the negotiating team that saw the Indo – U.S. nuclear deal through from the first agreement of July 2005 down to Additional Protocol in 2010 was given the first S.K. Singh award  ” for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen India’s position in the Global nuclear order ” by  UPA Chair person Sonia Gandhi at a high – profile function in New Delhi on 6 January 2012.

Union Home Ministry Award  ‘ Jeevan Raksha ‘ has been bagged by AP Teen.  The Union Home Ministry released Sarvotttam Jeevan Raksha, Uttam Jeevan Raksha and Jeevan Raksha Awards for the Year 2011. Rs. 30,000 will be given for ‘ Jeevan Raksha Award ‘ .

British honour for culture secy

In a rare honour, the British Museum, the oldest in the world, has decided to give its maiden British medal to culture secretary Jawhar Sircar on 7 January 2012.  The medal is being given as a “tribute and recognition of the extraordinary contribution made by Sircar in piloting museum reforms in India”.

Award for Saluri Vasu Rao

Noted cine music director, Saluri Vasu Rao, was conferred with the title, ‘ Sangeetha Siromani, ‘ by the Guntur District Music Artistes Association at the first anniversary celebrations held recently in Guntur, AP.

Manjubhargavi presented Lifetime Achievement award

Kuchipudi dancer Manjubhargavi was honoured with Lifetime Achievement award at the inauguaral session of the three – day Bharat Nrityotsav of Nataraja Music and Dance Academi at Kalabharati Auditorium in Visakhapatnam, AP on 8 Jan. 2012.

Gollapudi Maruthirao feted

Renowned film actor and writer Gollapudi Maruhtirao was conferred Lifetime Achievement Award by Appa Josyula Vishnubathala Kandalam Foundation and Srikakulam Rangasthala Kalakarula Samakhya on 8 Jan. 2012 in Srikakulam, AP.

“Ballon d’ Or” for Lionel Messi and Homare Sawa

Lionel Messi was on Jan.10, 2012 awarded the 2011 FIFA “Ballon d’Or” at a star-studded ceremony in Zurich, the third consecutive year that he has won the prestigious award for the world’s outstanding footballer. Japanese midfielder Homare Sawa claimed the women’s equivalant.

Clooney, Streep conquer Golden Globes

The 69th Golden Globe Awards this year have been bagged by Clooney, the Best Actor in a Motion Picture – “”The Descendants”" and Meryl Streep for the Best Performance by an Actress for her role as Margaret Thatcher in “”The Iron Lady”" on 16 January 2012 in Los Angles.

Cash award for Bindra

Union Sports Minister Ajay Maken on 18 Jan. 2012 presented a cheque for Rs. 4.33 lakh to Olympic champion Abhinav Bindra for winning the Gold in air rifle in the ongoing Asian shooting championship in Doha.

South Asia Literature Award For The Novel  China man

Srilankan author Shehan Karunatilaka  was awarded the DSC  Pril for south asia literature  2012 at the Jaipur literature festival in Rajsthan for the novel china man .

Dr . C. Narayana Reddy ‘ s Award

Dr . C. Narayana Reddy sahitya puraskaram is been awarded to kanad poet Maskandapuram Srinivas .

Ricky Ponting Was Honoured

Senior Australian batsman Ricky Ponting  was honoured with Australia’s highest civil honour along with a host of sports person of international repute .he was aslo appointed as  officer in the general division of distinguished service to the sports criket.

A P State Gets 3 Padma

Andhra Pradesh  got a raw deal in the prestigious Padma Bhushan . G Maniratnam -Founder  mamber of Trirupathi -based N G O  Rashtriya seva samithi (RASS) .Ace Badminton coach Syed Mohamad Arif were honoured with Padma Shri .Dr , P. Chandrasekhar Rao  -a judge at international tribund  for the law of sea , Germany were honoured  with Padma Bhushan

Padma Bhushan Awards

Cine artist – Dharmendra , cine artist Shabana Azmi , Director  Mira Nair, An Painter Jatin Das , London based sculptor Anish Kapoor , carnatic musicians T. V .Gopalkrishnan , B. Muthuramam -mM D of Tta steel,eminent cardiologist -Dev Prasad Shetty ,Cancer Specialist -Suresh H.Advani ,N. Vital -head of Central Vigilance Comission, M V. Subbaiah – murugappa group .

Padma Shri Awards

Women Criketer – Jhulan Goswami , Hockey Olympic Gold Medalist -Zafar Iqbal ,Skiing -Ajeet Bajaj ,Athletics -paralympics -Devendra Jhajriya , Archery -Limba Ram  were awarded with Padma Shri  .

Assam Policman  Creates World Record

Assam police constable who is 22 years old Abhjeet Buruah created world record by running barefoot more than 150 km  in 24 hours in Jorhat .and entered into Guinness Book Of World  Record on 31 st Jan 2012. The Indian observer for the guinness world record B.K.Chandrasekar Tiwari opproach to the Tarjan bypass on the western outskirts of Jorhat town .

Asha Bhosle , in  Limca Book Of Records

The luminaries from Indian Music including Asha Bhosle , Gulzar and Yesudas have been awarded ” people of the year ” at the unveiling of the 23 rd Limca Book Of Rcords on 31 st  Jan 2012.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email