Awards and Honours

Chinese Architect Bags Pritzker Prize

For the first time Pritzker Architecture Prize, considered as the Nobel Prize in architecture, had been awarded to Wang Shu a Chinese, for ” producing an architecture that is time less “, deeply rooted in the context and yet universal. The Prize includes a $ 100,000 grant, a citation certificate and a bronze medallion

President’s Award Winner

Navodaya cultural Academy will falicitate a eight year old named by Amar Udaykiran, who had won  the President’s Award for braving for saving two drowning children.

MANNU To Honour, Gulzar, Former Chief Justice

Film maker & Lyricist Gulzar and former chief Justice of supreme court A.M Ahmadi along with two other eminent personalities would be honoured with D.Lit ( Honour’sCausa ) by the Maulana Azad National Urdu University(MANNU) during its fourth convocation on 3 March 2012.

Sahitya Akademi Prize For Young Writer

V.Gangadhar, an upcoming telugu writer of Rayalaseema had received the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar for the year 2011, for his compilation of short stories “Molakala Punnami”

101 Years Old Woman Set World Record
A 101 years old Mary Hardison, Utah woman is being honoured with a world record for a Paraglide Ride and entered into Guinness Book of World Records. The previous record was set by 100 years woman

59th National Film Awards

The 59th National awards had been announced on 7 March 2012 in New Delhi. Best Feature Film -’ Deool’ (Marathi) and ‘Byari’ (Karnataka) Best Actor- Girish Kulkarni Best Actress – Vidya Balan ( The Dirty Picture) Best Editing – Pravin K.L (for Aranyakandam) Best Special Effects –

A.P Woman Gets Sthree Shakti Puraskar

President Pratibha Patil had presented the Devi Ahilyabai Holkar Award to Hypno Padma Kamlakar from Andhra pradesh during the Sthree Shakti Puraskar 2011in New Delhi  held on 7 March 2012.

International Women of Courage Awards

On March 8 2012 International Women’s Day Secretory of states Hillary Clinton and first lady Michelle Obama honoured 10 women from around the world. Shad Begum of lower Dir women of Pakistan received the 2012 international women of courage award for bravely working for women in a deeply conservative areas Afghanisthan provincial council woman Maryam Durani, for her works towards economic equality Saudi Arabia’s Samar Badawi for her work preparing legal challenges to law restricting women’s rights to many works Brazil’s police Major Pricilla De Oliveira Azevedo for working to improve health care & education Myanmar’s political activist Zin MarAung to promote democracy & the right of ethnic minorities Turkish parliamentarian Safak Pavey for promoting the rights of the physically disabled women & minorities Maldives Aneesa Ahmed for eliminating domestic violence Libya’s Hana El Hebshi for helping properly document the violence of her country’s resolution Colombian Jineth Bedoya Lima in pushing for Justice in unsolved case of sexual and gender based violence Sudan’s Hawa Abdallah Mohammed Salih for defending the rights of differences and in particular rights of women & children

Kuchipudi Dancer Anjana In Indian Book of Records

Ajana Thomas , an eight class student had entered the Indian Book of Records by performing Kuchipudi dance from Timmapur in Dubbak mandal to Siddipet on 12 March, walking  the dance which began at 5 am, completed at 1 pm

Indian American Wins Science Talent Search

An Indian-American teenager Nithin Reddy Tumma topped the Intel Science Talent Search and also two other Indian Americans Neet Patel from Florida, Anirudh Prabhu from Indiana had been in the top.Tumma had won the prestigious Science Talent Competition in the US for his research on devising a more effective and less toxic breast cancer treatment.

Chameli Devi Jain Award

Chameli Devi Jain Award for 2012 was awarded to Tusha Mittal on 13 March 2012 in New Delhi for her outstanding women mediaperson for reporting of life in the raw at the margins in deep interior states like, Bengal, Orissa and Chhattisgarh

Dr. Burgula Award For Babu Rao Varma

Freedom fighter and former member of National Commission for Backward Classes, B.Babu Rao Varma was awarded with Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao, who was the first Chief minister of Hyderabad state . this award was given on 14 March 2012 by the state Government.

NTR Award For Sharada

Veteran actress Sharada had been awarded the NTR National Award for the year 2010 which was announced by the state Government of Andhra Pradesh on 19 march 2012

Indian NGO Selected For US Award

An Indian NGO, Chintan had been chosen for American first innovation awsrd for the empowerment of women and girls, for training and organizing waste pickers and eliminating child labour from recycling

Gram Ratna Award For Andhra Pradesh

Kotala Gram Panchayat of Chandragiri Mandal, Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh had won the Central Government Gram Ratan Award. It has  won the award for showing the best results in the development of Panchayat.

Life Time Achievement Award For S. Chandrasekhar

A noted Physician and Ophthalmologist Sankurathri Chandrasekhar on 22 March 2012 had been awarded with Lifetime Achievement Award for his activities in the field of education, health and disaster management, which was conferred by the Aathmiya Arts Theatre.

A.P State ‘Telugu Velugulu’ Awards

A.P State Cultural Council has awarded with ‘ Telugu Velugulu’ to the actor Akkineni Nageswar Rao, Carnatic music maestro Mangalampali Balamurali Krishna, former Army chief General K.V Krishna Rao and Statistician C.R.Rao were among the eight eminent personalities selected for the awards.

Hungarian Mathematician Gets 2012 Abel Prize

The prestigious Abel Prize of the Norwegion Academy of Science and Letters for the year 2012 had been awarded to Hungarian Mathematician Endre Szemere’de of the Alfred Renyi Institute of Mathematic’s, this award was given for his fundamental contributions to discrete mathematics and Computer science

Phalke Award For Soumitra Chaterjee

Veteran Bengali actor, Soumitra Chaterjee has been honoured with the Prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke award for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema.

Bangladesh Govt To Honour 47 Indian’s

The Bangladesh Government has decided to honour 132 foreign leaders, intellectuals, cultural personalities and organisatons who helped in the country’s Liberation war of 1971. The list of people to be honoured includes 47 Indian’s. The honour was conferred on 27 March 2012. The Indian’s who has been awarded include Sachindra lal singh, Rajeshawar Rao, Siddhartha Shankar Ray, P.A Sangma, Justice Sadat Abul Masual, Dr. Karan singh, Maharani Biva Kumari Devi, Field Marshal Sam manekshaw, Lt Gen Jagjit singh Aurora, Lt Gen Jacob, Lance Nayek Albert Ekka.

Delhi Telugu Academy Awards

Film producer D. Rama Naidu has been awarded with the life time achievement award by the Delhi Telugu Academy in Hyderabad on 25 March 2012 by the Legislative Council Chairman  A.Chakrapani

Tamil Writer To Honour With Saraswati Samman

The K.K Birla Foundation announced on 22 March 2012, its decision to honour Tamil writer A.A.Manavalan with the 21st Saraswati Samman for his book on Ramayana.

Dalai Lama Winner Of World’s Leading Religion Prize

The John Templeton Foundation on 29 March 2012 decided to honour Tibetan Buddhist Spirutual Leader, the Dalai Lama with one of the world’s leading religion prizes called , ‘Templeton Prize’ for 2012. The Buddhist leader who lives in exile in India had won the Nobel prize in recognition of his work on science & religion. The Templeton prize to be presented to him on 14 May 2012 at St. Poul’s Cathedral in London is a $1.7million award.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email