The Centre has declared entire Assam as a “disturbed” area under the controversial Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA) for one more month, citing various violent activities by insurgent groups ULFA, NDFB, and others. The Union home ministry also declared Meghalaya’s border areas adjoining Assam, and three districts in Arunachal Pradesh as “disturbed” under the AFSPA for two more months with effect from 03 August, 2017. It has also declared as “disturbed” under the AFSPA three districts of Arunachal Pradesh – Tirap, Changlang, Longding and areas falling within the jurisdiction of 14 police stations in nine other districts of the state with effect from 04 August 2017 to 30 September 2017.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email