National Conference patron and former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah and Indian Union Muslim League’s PK Kunhalikutty took oath as the Member of Parliament (MP) in the Lok Sabha. Abdullah took the oath in Kashmiri, while Kunhalikutty opted for English. Abdullah was elected to the lower house of Parliament after defeating his Peoples Democratic Party rival Nazir Ahmed Khan by over 10000 votes from the Srinagar-Budgam parliamentary constituency. While, Kunhalikutty was elected after winning the Malappuram by-poll in Kerala. He defeated Communist Party of India-Marxist candidate and youth leader MB Faisal.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email