Kohli is CEAT ” International Cricketer of the Year “

On 4 January Vice-captain of Indian Cricket team Virat Kohli  was named the International Cricketer of the Year while Pakistan cricket team was named as the Best International Cricket Team in the 2011-2012 season at the CEAT cricket awards in New Delhi. Unmukt Chand, who led India to the U-19 World Cup win last year, got the inaugural Indian Youngster of the Year award.The Former Pakistan cricket captain Zaheer Abbas received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Uttarakhand won 63rd National Basketball Championship

On 4 January Uttarakhand won 63rd National basketball championship men’s title after defeated Punjab in the final at Ludhiana (Punjab).In the women’s section, Railways won the title against by first-time finalist Tamil Nadu in the final.

Tipsarevic won Chennai Open Tennis Title

On 6 January Second-seeded Janko Tipsarevic of Serbia has won the ATP Chennai Open Title after defeated Roberto Bautista-Agut of Spain in the final at Chennai.Tipsarevic won the chennai open title for the first time in his career.

Nicol David won World Series Squash Title

On 6 January Nicol David won the World Series Squash Finals women’s  title after defeated England’s Laura Massaro in the final at London.In the men’s final, Egypt’s Amr Shabana came from behind to beat England’s Nick Matthew .

Australia Won Test Against Sri Lanka

Australia secured a five-wicket won in the third and final Test match against Sri Lanka on 6 January at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) .

Brisbane International Tennis Winners – 2013

Womens Single’s :Serena Williams (USA) won the WTA Brisbane International womens single’s title on 5 January with a straight sets demolition of Russian Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova.

Men’s Singles : In the Men’s singles Category Andy Murray from scotland won the title after defeated Bulgarian Grigor Dimitrov .

Women’s Doubles :  Sania Mirza and her partner Bethanie Mattek-Sands won the women’s doubles trophy by winning against Kveta Peschke and Anna-Lena Groenefeld

Men’s Doubles : Marcelo Melo – Tommy Robredo won the doubles title after defeated Eric Butorac – Paul Hanley .

Pakistan won the Three – Match Series

On 6 January Pakistan won the three-match series by 2-1 against India.With this win over Pakistan, India lost the three matches one day series .Nasir Jamshed of Paksitan was declared as the Player of the tournament.MS Dhoni was once again chosen as the Player of the match.

Lionel Messi, the man of the four Golden Balls

Lionel Messi became the first four-time winner of the FIFA Player of the Year award after shattering the world record with 91 goals last year(2012) for Barcelona and Argentina.His 91 goals topped Gerd Mueller’s mark of 85 for Bayern Munich and Germany in 1972.

Bangar quits first-class cricket 

Former India player and Railways captain Sanjay Bangar  announced his retirement from first-class cricket after guiding his team to a 122-run victory over Bengal in the final league game of the Ranji Trophy on 01 January 2013 in Kolkata.He played 165 first class matches amassing 8342 runs at an average of 33.35 and has 300 wickets to his credit.

National Table Tennis Championship Winners

On 11 January Soumyajit Ghosh  became the youngest national champion after he defeated six-time winner Achanta Sharath Kamal in the summit clash of the 74th National Table Tennis Championship mens singles final at Raipur.Shamini Kumaresan won the womens singles title.Sourav Chakraborty and Ganeshan Sathiyan won the doubles title.In the Women doubles category K. Spoorthy and Nikhat Banu (AP) defeated Madhurika Patkar and Pooja Sahasrabudhe in the final and got the title.

Haryana girls retain U-20 hockey title

Haryana defeated Uttar Pradesh 1-0 to retain their under-20 women hockey national championship at the Gachibowli Stadium on 16 January 2013.

Kerala won 61st National Volleyball Championship Title

On 16 January Kerala defeated  Tamilnadu to retain the men’s title in the 61st Senior National Volleyball Championship at the Sawai Man Singh Indoor Stadium in Jaipur.In the women’s section, Railways defeated Kerala and won the title in the  final.

Malaysian Open Badminton Championship Winners

Men’s Singles: Lee Chong Wei (Indonesia) won the Men’s singles title after defeated  Sony Dwi Kuncoro in the final at Kuala Lumpur on 20 January.

Men’s Doubles: Mohd Ahsan (Indonesia) -Hendra Setiawan (China) defeated Ko Sung-hyun-Lee Yong-dae (Malaysia) in the final.

Women’s Singles: Tai Tzu-ying (Thailand) won the women’s singles title after defeated Yao Xue (Korea)

Women’s Doubles: In the event Bao Yixin-Tian Qing (China)  won the title after defeated  Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi (Japan)

Lalith Babu takes top honours

Lalith Babu defeated Swapnil Dhopade in the final round to clinch the Chennai Super Kings International Grandmaster chess tournament that concluded at the Nehru Stadium in Chennai on 23 January 2013.Lalith Babu won Rs.200,000 and the trophy after becoming the first Indian player to claim the Chennai Open.

Australian Open Tennis Tournament – 2013 Winners

Womens Single’s :- Victoria Azarenka of Belarus won the Women’s Singles title of the Australian Open Tennis tournament after defeated Li Na of China in the final at Melbourne on 26 January .

Men’s Singles:- Novak Djokovic   (Serbia) has won the men’s singles title after defeating Andy Murray (Britain) in four sets. This is Djokovic’s fourth Australian Open and over all six Grand Slam single title.

Women’s Doubles:-  Top seeds Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci won the title, defeating wild cards Ashleigh Barty and Casey Dellacqua in the final.

Men’s Doubles : Top seeded American brothers Bob and Mike Bryan won the men’s doubles title. Americans Mike and Bob Bryan won their record 13th Grand Slam doubles title, defeating the Dutch team of Robin Haase and Igor Sijsling .

Magnus Carlsen Won Tata Steel Chess Championship

Magnus Carlsen won Tata Steel 2013 Chess tournament title in the final at Netherlands  on 27 January .In the final round tournament, he scored 10 points , winning clear first ahead of second-place finisher Aronian (Armenia).World champion Viswanathan Anand at third position.

Mumbai won 40th Ranji Trophy Title

On 29 January Mumbai won its 40th Ranji Trophy title against Saurashtra by an inning and 125 runs in the final at Wankhede at Mumbai .Wasim Jaffar was declared Man of the Match. Ajit Agarkar was the captain of the winning team.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email