03 October 2018 Current Affairs

Click here to download 03 October 2018 Current Affairs in PDF Format

Kurdish moderate Barham Salih elected Iraq president
Moderate Kurdish candidate Barham Salih swept to the post of president of Iraq with a resounding victory in a parliamentary vote. Saleh routed his main rival Fuad Hussein with 219 votes to 22. Saleh immediately named Adel Abdul Mahdi prime minister-designate.

Justice Ranjan Gogoi sworn in as 46th Chief Justice of India
Justice Ranjan Gogoi has sworn-in as new Chief Justice of India. President Ram Nath Kovind administered him the oath of office at a function in Rashtrapati Bhawan. He is succeeding Justice Dipak Misra who retired as Chief Justice of India recently. Justice Gogoi is the 46th Chief Justice of India.

Niwari inducted as the 52nd district of MP
The state Cabinet of Madhya Pradesh approved the proposal of induction of Niwari district in the state. It became the 52nd district of the state. IAS officer Akshay Kumar Singh has been appointed as the first interim District Collector of the district.

SBI reduces ATM withdrawal limit
State Bank of India has slashed the daily withdrawal limit on its classic debit card from Rs 40,000 to Rs 20,000. There is no change in the daily withdrawal limits on other cards.

Rangachari Sridharan appointed chairperson of NFRA
The Centre has appointed former IAS officer Rangachari Sridharan as chairperson of the National Financial Reporting Authority (NFRA), an entity which will function as an independent regulator for the auditing profession.

Central Information Commission brings BCCI under RTI Act
The Central Information Commission has pronounced the judgement that the BCCI comes under the jurisdiction of the RTI Act. As a result of the ruling, the board is now ‘answerable to the people of the country’.

Thampi Kannanthanam passes away
Veteran Malayalam film personality Thampi Kannanthanam passed away at a private hospital in Kochi after several days of illness. He was a producer, director and have also acted in a few films.

Nobel Prize in Physics goes to Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou & Donna Strickland
American scientist Arthur Ashkin, French engineer Gerard Mourou and Canadian professor Donna Strickland have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for their work in the field of laser physics. Dr. Ashkin has been awarded the Prize for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems. Dr. Mourou & Dr. Strickland have been awarded ‘for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses.


Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email