13 March 2017 Current Affairs

Manohar Parrikar appointed as Goa new Chief Minister

BJP leader Manohar Parrikar resigned as the Defence Minister of India and will be taking oath as the Goa new Chief Minister at 5 PM on 14 March. Goa governor Mridula Sinha on 12 March appointed Parrikar as the new Chief Minister of Goa. It is still not clear who will be replacing him as the Defence Minister of India. Parrikar is not yet a member of legislative assembly, and hence, has to contest a poll in the next six months.

Nandyal MLA Bhuma dies of heart attack

Three-time Member of Parliament and sitting MLA of Nandyal in Andhra Pradesh, Bhuma Nagireddy 53, died of massive cardiac arrest on 12th March. As the MLA’s condition was serious first he was sent to local private hospital, later the condition was critical, he was given compulsory Cardiopulmonary resuscitation and Ventilator support before being rushed to a hospital at Nandyal. He did not respond to medication and was declared dead.

Pakistan set to conduct its first Census in 19 years

Pakistan is set to conduct its first national census in 19 years which will begin on 15 March with the assistance of over 2,00,000 troops. Army spokesman Major General Asif Ghafoor and Minister of state for Information Marriyum Aurangzeb addressed a joint conference about preparation for the census, which will be conducted in phases and will be completed conducted in two phases and will be completed on May 25.

India Bangladesh border guards celebrate Holi together

India’s Border Security Force (BSF) and Border Guards Bangladesh (BGB) played Holi At Akhaura integrated check post and other bordering areas of Tripura and also exchanged sweets. Holi, the popular “Festival of Colours”, will be celebrated in some some parts of the country on Sunday and the other parts on Monday. Celebration of each other’s festivals together would bring both the Organisations closer.

BJP Victory in UP, UK and Hung in Goa, Manipur

In the five state assembly elections in 2017, BJP has got absolute Majority in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, while Congress won in Punjab, No party has emerged with clear majority in Goa and Manipur, however congress emerged as single largest party in the these states.
Uttar Pradesh : Out of 403 – BJP + AD 325 Seats, SP + Congress 54, BSP 19, Others 5
Uttarakhand: Out of 70 – BJP gets 57 seats, Congress 11, Others 2
Goa : Out of 40 – Cong 17, BJP 13, Others 10.
Manipur : Out of 60 – Cong 28, BJP 21, Others 10, TMC 1.
Punjab: Out of 117 – Cong 77, AAP 22, SAD + BJP 18.

Click Here to download today’s Current Affairs in PDF Format

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email