15 May 2014 Current Affairs

Six Indo-Americans Felicitated with Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Six Indian Americans have been felicitated with the prestigious Ellis Island Medal of Honor for the year 2014. The Ellis Island Medals of Honor by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organization is given annually to US citizens who have distinguished themselves within their own ethnic groups while exemplifying the values of the American way of life. Among the recipients of the award are Yash Paul Soi, considered to be the pioneer in popularizing Bollywood in the US , Silicon Valley entrepreneur Narpat Bhandari and Massachushets-based entrepreneur and philanthropist Samir Desai.  Arun Kumar Pramanik, Neonatologist and a professor of pediatrics at Louisiana State University Health Shreveport,  Ketki Sharadkumar Shah, clinical director of an outpatient program in New York City and Abdul M Suleman president and CEO of Equinox Hotels, a hotel development and management firm, were also felicitated with the prestigious award.

B Pandya Appointed Chairman of Central Water Commission

B Pandya has been appointed as the Chairman of Central Water Commission (CWC) and Ex-officio Secretary to the Union Government. Pandya was holding additional charge of the post since November, 2013.


Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email