Laureus World Sports Awards 2016
The 2016 Laureus World Sports Awards ceremony for the first time was held in Berlin, Germany on 18 April. Novak Djokovic from Serbia has won the 2016 Laureus Sportsman of the Year Award. He has won it or second time after winning it in 2012. US tennis legend Serene Williams has won the 2016 Laureus Sports-woman of the Year Award. It was her fourth Laureus Awards after she won it in 2003, 2007 and 2010.

Australia Won 2016 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup
Australia on 16 April defeated India 4-0 in the final to win the 25th edition of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup held in Ipoh, Malaysia. With this India settled at the second position and was followed by New Zealand (defending champion) at the third position. This was the 9th title for the Aussies at this tournament having last won it in 2014.Earlier, Australia had won the Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament in 1983, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2011, 2013 and 2014. They also holds record of most titles win of this tournament.

Danny Willett Won 2016 US Masters Golf
Danny Willett from England on 10 April won the prestigious 2016 US Masters Golf tournament.It was his first major championship with a score of 283 (H5) and three strokes ahead of runners-up Lee Westwood (UK) and the defending champion Jordan Spieth (US).

India Won 2016 Asian Nations Cup Chess Tournament
Indian men have won the 2016 Asian Nations Cup Chess tournament by defeating Vietnam in the final round by 3-1 score played in Abu Dhabi on 6 April. To clinch the title, India collected 17 points, two more than World and Olympiad champions China. India drew Mongolia and beat the rest of the teams in a 22-team tournament. This was the third time that Indian men won the event. They won at Esfahan, Iran in 2005 and Kolkata 2009 when China did not participate on both occasions.

Hockey India 2nd Annual Awards
Indian hockey players P R Sreejesh and Deepika who won Dhruv Batra Player of the year award in Men’s and Women’s category repectively at the Hockey India 2nd Annual Awards for the year 2015 in Bengaluru, Karnataka. Late Capt. Shankar Laxman was posthumo-usly chosen for the 2016 Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email