Awards and Honours

Jaitley, Karan Singh, Sharad Yadav Conferred with ‘Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards ‘
Finance Minister Arun Jaitley ( for 2010), Congress leader Karan Singh (2011) and JD(U) President Sharad Yadav (2012) are conferred with ‘Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards’ by the President Pranab Mukherjee on 12 August in New Delhi. The awards were given for their invaluable contribution in discharge of their parliamentary duties.

Indian-origin Professor Manjul Bhargava Won ‘Nobel Prize of Maths ‘
Two Indian-origin professors have won global prizes in the field of mathematics with one of them being awarded the Fields Medal, known as the “Nobel Prize of mathematics”. Manjul Bhargava won the Fields Medal while Subhash Khot won the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize, awarded by the International Mathematical Union (IMU), at the International Congress of Mathematicians 2014 held in Seoul on 13 August.

Army Major Mukund Varadarajan Honoured with Ashok Chakra
India’s highest peacetime gallantry award ‘Ashoka Chakra’ has been awarded posthumously to Major Mukund Varadarajan of 44th Battalion of the Rastriya Rifles (22 Rajput). 55 gallantry awards (peacetime) were announced on the eve of 68th Independence Day on 14 August 2014. There have been one Ashoka Chakra, 12 Shaurya Chakras, 39 Sena Medal, one Nao Sena Medal and two Vayu Sena Medal this year.

Pakistani Journalist Asma Shirazi Won 2014 Peter Mackler Award
Asma Shirazi, Pakistan’s first female war correspondent and host of popular TV talk shows, was named 2014 Winner of Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism on 22 August. Shirazi is the second woman to win the award since its creation in 2008, after Honduran radio news editor Karla Rivas won in 2011.


Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email