Sports and Games

East Zone Won 2014–15 Deodhar Trophy
East Zone won the 2014-15 Deodhar Trophy of cricket on 3 December by defeating West Zone by 24 runs. The final match was played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This was the first Deodhar Trophy win for East Zone after 11 seasons.

India Won Blind Cricket World Cup 2014
Indian Blind Cricket team under the captaincy of Shekhar Naik won the fourth edition of the Blind Cricket World Cup (BCWC) 2014 by defeating defending champions Pakistan in the final match played at Cape Town (South Africa) on 7 December. It was the first time India won the event.

Germany Won 2014 Champions Trophy Hockey
Germany defeated Pakistan 2-0 on 14 December to win the 35th Champions Trophy Hockey (Men’s) in Bhubaneswar for the 10th time. Germany had last won the tournament in 2007.Australia has won Men’s Champions Trophy for the highest 13 times followed by Germany (10 times).

Indian Men and Women Teams Won 5th Kabaddi World Cup 2014
India won the Men and Women title of Kabaddi World Cup 2014. This was the fifth Kabaddi World Cup.The final match of the cup was played on 20 December at Guru Gobind Singh Multipurpose Stadium in Jalandhar, Punjab, India. The Indian men’s team defeated Pakistan 45-42 for the fourth time, while the women team beat New Zealand 36-27 for the second time in a row.

Sunil Chhetri Named 2014 AIFF Player of the Year
Indian national team captain Sunil Chhetri was on 27 December declared ‘ All India Football Federation (AIFF) Player of the Year’ for the third time in four years while Bala Devi has been declared the ‘Woman Player of the Year’.


Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email