Eminent Marathi Writer Bhalchandra Nemade Selected For Jnanpith Award 2014
Eminent Marathi writer Bhalchandra Nemade on 6 February  was chosen for the Jnanpith Award 2014 by the Jnanpith Selection Board. He is the 4th Marathi writer to receive the honour and is the 50th recipient of Jnanpith award.His novel Kosala (Cocoon) published in 1963 was not only instrumental in changing the dimensions of the Marathi novel, but also the world of Marathi fiction was transformed with its advent.

57th Annual Grammy Awards
The 57th Annual Grammy Awards were held on 8 February at the Staples Center in Los Angeles, California. In all, 83 Grammy Awards were presented at the function.
* Two Indians — Ricky Kej and Neela Vaswani — took home a Grammy Award each. Neela Vasvani won the trophy in the Best Children’s Album category for “I Am Malala: How One Girl Stood Up For Education And Changed The World (Malala Yousafzai)”. She had narrated the audio version of the book. On the other hand Ricky Kej’s collaboration in the album “Winds Of Samsara” won the Best New Age Album trophy. He had teamed up with South African musician Wouter Kellerman for the album, which symbolises peace and harmony.
* Beck Hansen’s album “Morning Phase” won the Best Album of the Year Award while the song “Stay With Me” featuring James Napier, William Phillips & Sam Smith won Best Song of the Year Award and Best Record of the Year Award.

Amartya Sen Won John Maynard Keynes Prize
Economist and Nobel laureate Amartya Sen has won the newly instituted Charleston-EFG John Maynard Keynes Prize 2015 on 10 February.With this, Professor Sen will receive 7500 British pounds to commission a work of art and will give the annual Charleston-EFG Keynes Lecture at the Charleston Festival in the United Kingdom. This year’s lecture is scheduled for 23 May 2015 and it will be on The Economic Consequences of Austerity.

87th Annual Academy Oscar Awards 2015
The 87th Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) was held on 23 February at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles.The Academy Awards (commonly referred as Oscars) were presented in twenty four categories. They are :-
* Best Actor – Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything).
* Best Actress – Julianne Moore (Still Alice).
* Best Supporting Actor – J. K. Simmons (Whiplash).
* Best Supporting Actress – Patricia Arquette (Boyhood).
* Best Director – Alejandro G. Iñárritu for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance).
* Best Original Screenplay – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance).
* Best Adapted Screenplay – The Imitation Game.
* Best Original Song – Glory (Selma).
* Best Original Score – The Grand Budapest Hotel.
* Best Production Design – The Grand Budapest Hotel.
* Best Editing – Whiplash.
* Best Cinematography – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance).
* Best Sound Editing – American Sniper.
* Best Sound Mixing – Whiplash.
* Best Foreign Language Film – Ida (Poland).
* Best Documentary Feature – CitizenFour.
* Best Documentary Short Subject – Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1.
* Best Live Action Short Film – The Phone Call.
* Best Visual Effects – Interstellar.
* Best Animated Feature Film – Big Hero 6.
* Best Animated Short Film – Feast.
* Best Makeup and Hairstyling – The Grand Budapest Hotel.
* Best Costume Design – The Grand Budapest Hotel.
* Most awards – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) and The Grand Budapest Hotel (Both received 4 awards).
* Most nominations in 87th Academy Awards – Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) and The Grand Budapest Hotel (both 9 nominations)

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email