Andy Murray Won ATP World Tennis Championship
Britain’s Andy Murray  Andy Murray won the ATP World Tennis Championship at Zayed Sports City in Abu Dhabi on 4 January.He won the title after the Serbia’s Novak Djokovic withdrew from the final match citing illness.This was the first title of year 2015 for Andy Murray.

Brisbane Tennis Tournament Winners – 2015
Women’s Singles :- Maria Sharapova of Russia won the Brisbane International women’s singles title on 10 January.She defeated Serbia’s Ana Ivanovic in the final.It was her 34th career title.
Men’s Singles :- Switzerland’s Roger Federar won the Men’s singles title. He defeated Milos Raonic of Canada in the final.It’s a grand number for a 17-time Grand Slam champion, making him the only player after Jimmy Connors (1,253) and Ivan Lendl (1,071) to win 1,000 times on the men’s professional tour. Its the 83rd career title for this 17-time Grand Slam champion.

South Africa’s AB de Villiers Scores Fastest One-day International Century
South Africa’s batsman AB de Villiers hit the fastest century in One-Day International (ODI) cricket. AB de Villiers scored the century in just 31 balls. He achieved the feat in second ODI match of the 5-match ODI series played on 18 January at the Wanderers in Johannesburg against West Indies. The previous record was held by New Zealand’s Corey Anderson who scored a century in 36 balls against the West Indies on 1 January 2014.On the way to make the world record of fastest century, Villiers went to fifty off 16 balls, one ball less than Sanath Jayasuriya’s 19-year old record of the fastest ODI half-century. Jayasuriya scored the fifty in 17 balls for Sri Lanka against Pakistan in 1995-96.

Australian Open Tennis Tournament Winners – 2015
Women’s singles :- Serena Williams of US won the women’s singles title of Australian Open 2015 on 31 January 2015 by defeating Maria Sharapova.This was her sixth Australian Open singles title and 19th singles Grand Slam title. With this she overtook 18-time Grand Slam winners Martina Navratilova and Chris Evert. She is now just three titles away from Steffi Graf’s record of 22 Grand Slam titles.
Men’s Singles :- Novak Djokovic (Serbia) won the Australian Open Men’s singles title. He defeated Britain’s Andy Murray in the final on 1 February.Djokovic had earlier won the Australian Open titles in 2008, 2011, 2012 and 2013. This was his 8th career Grand Slam title. Murray has now been runner-up four times here, losing twice previously to Djokovic in 2011 and 2013 and to Roger Federer in 2010.


Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email