Awards and Honours

86th Annual Academy Oscar Awards 2014
The 86th Annual Academy Oscar Awards 2014, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), honored the actors, technical achievements, and films of 2013 and took place on 2 March  2014, at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles.
List of Winners at 86th annual Academy Awards :-
Best Picture :- “12 Years a Slave.”
Best Actor :- Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club.”
Best Actress :- Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine.”
Best Supporting Actor :- Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club.”
Best Supporting Actress :- Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave.”
Best Directing :- Alfonso Cuaron, “Gravity.”
Best Foreign Language Film :- “The Great Beauty,” Italy.
Best Adapted Screenplay :- John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave.”
Best Original Screenplay :- Spike Jonze, “Her.”
Best Animated Feature Film :- “Frozen.”
Production Design :- “The Great Gatsby.”
Best Cinematography :- “Gravity.”
Best Sound Mixing :- “Gravity.”
Best Sound Editing :- “Gravity.”
Best Original Score :- “Gravity,” Steven Price.
Best Original Song :- “Let It Go” from “Frozen.”
Best Costume :- “The Great Gatsby.”
Best Makeup and Hairstyling :- “Dallas Buyers Club.”
Best Animated Short Film :- “Mr. Hublot.”
Best Documentary Feature :- “20 Feet from Stardom.”
Best Documentary (short subject) :- “The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life.”
Best Film Editing :- “Gravity.”
Best Live Action Short Film :- “Helium.”
Best Visual Effects :- “Gravity.”

Indian Author Pankaj Mishra Won Windham Campbell Literature Prize
Award-winning Indian author Pankaj Mishra is among eight writers from seven countries who have won a $1,50,000 Yale University prize each in recognition of their literary achievements.Essayist and novelist Mishra has been selected on 9 March for the prestigious Windham Campbell Literature prize in the non-fiction category.

German Honours Three Indians with Cross of the Order of Merit
Germany has conferred three Indians with its ‘Cross of the Order of Merit’ award for their contribution in strengthening Indo-German relations over the past decades.The awards were bestowed on Anand Singh Bawa, Kalyan Sachdev and Syed Hasnain by German Ambassador Michael Steiner in New Delhi at a function on 11 March.

Tomas Halik Won 2014 Templeton Prize
Tomas Halik, a Roman Catholic priest and philosopher, onetime Czech political activist and an advocate for religious freedom and interfaith dialogue, won the 2014 Templeton Prize on 13 March for religious and spiritual progress.The prize, valued at about $1.8 million, is one of the largest awards given annually to a single individual. Founded in 1972.

Leave a Reply

Free E-mail Job Alerts
Enter your email address:
Don't Forget To "Activate" Subscription Link Sent to Your Email